2023 Leeds Police Department Memorial & Awards Ceremony

Under the direction of Leeds Police Chief Paul Irwin, the 2023 Leeds Police Department Memorial & Awards Ceremony was held at Leeds City Annex on Monday. Those recognized in memory were Kimberly Sickafoose, Alabama Port Authority - EOW: May 11, 2023, Police Officer Garrett Crumby, Huntsville Police Department - EOW: Tuesday, March 28, 2023, Officer Ivan Mauricio Lopez, Mount Vernon Police Department - EOW: August 22, 2022, Deputy Sheriff Bradley Johnson, Bibb County Sheriff’s Office - EOW: June 30, 2022, Deputy Sheriff J’Mar Colin Abel, Chambers County Sheriff’s Office - EOW: June 20, 2022, Officer Darryl Wayne Fortner, Vestavia Hills Police Department - EOW: April 6, 2022, Sergeant Christopher Michael Vaughn, Cedar Bluff Police Department - EOW: April 1, 2022, Corporal Keith Morgan, Cherokee County Sheriff’s Office - EOW: February 16, 2022, Deputy Steve Bobbitt, Dekalb County Sheriff’s Office - EOW: February 2, 2022, Lieutenant Kevin Pounders, Hanceville Police Department - EOW: January 23, 2022 and Investigator Steven Ray Finley, Madison County Sheriff’s Office - EOW: January 14, 2022.

Citizen’s Awards were presented to Mr. David Bell, Mr. Isaac Burchfield, Mr. Barend Craukamp, Mr. Sean Oglesby, Mr. Stephen Kelly, Mr. Dewayne McFarlin, Mrs. Paezile Ariel Wilbanks and Mr. Topaer “Toper” Oastenstad.

2023-05-15 17.30.22police awards_600p
2023-05-15 17.30.55police awards_600p
2023-05-15 17.31.30police awards_600p

Service Awards were presented to Lieutenant Jacob Scott - 15 Years of Service, Detective Brian Chalian - 15 Years of Service, Sergeant Richard Waldrop - 10 Years of Service and Officer Michael R. Weirich - 5 Years of Service.

2023-05-15 17.33.04police awards_600
2023-05-15 17.44.37police awards_600
2023-05-15 17.44.59police awards_600
2023-05-15 17.47.43-2police awards_600

Officer of the Year for the Leeds Police Department was presented to Officer Harley Hamer. Investigator of the Year was presented to James Butterbrodt. Life Saving Medal was presented to Leeds Police Department Officer Jacob Turnbloom. Leeds Police Department Distinguished Service Medals were presented to Detective James Butterbrodt and Detective Michael Phillips.

Officer of Valor Awards for 2023 Firearms, Fitness and Driving were presented to Sergeant Jordan Palmer, Officer Patrick Smith, Officer Bryan Parsons, Officer Zack Harrison, Officer James White, Officer Ronald Thompson, Officer Evan Kavli, Officer Michael Phillips, Officer Justin Wilson and Officer Randy Angle.

Office of the First Quarter 2023 chosen was Officer Garrett Mays.


2023-05-16 08.02.05.jpegpolice awards_600